loader image

CIRCUIT 1 – LE VERDON

Plateau of Valensole

The village called Valensole (Sun Valley), is located on a wonderful plateau (800 kilometers, 12700 ha, 500 meters above sea level). It is  the biggest area in France dedicated to lavender culture. The blossom season starts from mid-June until the end of July.

With lavenders, we harvest cereals (wheat) and almonds (blossom of almond trees in March).

Close to Valensole village, you will visit lavender fields and local shops with products from the producers/distillery.

There are several and different local products such as honey, lavender, goat and sheep cheeses, olive oil, truffle, essential oils, soaps and country pâté.

Then, we will cross the Valensole plateau during several kilometers and you will feel the evasion and freedom because no matter the period you come, the colours are wonderful.

Moustiers-Sainte-Marie

Located on a valley, and snuggled against a rocky cliff, crossed by waterfalls because a river cut the village in half.  Moustiers village is classified as « One of the most beautiful village of France ».  It is often compared to the provencal cribs. Several fountains, restaurants with beautiful terraces, souvenir shops, local products and earthenware are all around the village. Famous for its earthenware, Moustiers is organised around tourism.

On the 5th Century, a monk community founded a monastery (monasterium in latin language), the name of the village comes from this monastery. 

Between two rocky cliffs, there is a gold star of 1,25 meter in diameter suspended on top of the village. It is suspended by a 135 meters chain, the star weighs 150 kg. It dates from 1957 and it is the eleventh star we can see. One of the legends say that a knight, made prisoner by the Sarazins in 1210, swore to suspend a big gold star if he succeeded to go back to the village, to thank Saint Mary. But there are at least 17 different legends about this star.

After the visit of the village, we will go to Palud-Sur-Verdon to see the canyons. On the road you will see the artificial lake of Sainte-Croix created in 1973. It is the third biggest lake in France (10 kilometers by 2 kilometers wide). It gives electricity to close cities and provide good places for swimming and boating.

Verdon Canyon

This is one of the deepest cayons in Europe.  It was created by the erosion of limestone of the Vernon plateau. The canyon is 50 kilometers long and sometimes go to 700 meters deep. This jewel is classified as “big site of France” The road offers several view points to admire the canyon. We will stop at one of the most beautiful points. Then we will go down the Verdon  banks where you will visit a part of the Baou tunnel (670 meters long, the construction started in 1890 for a hydroelectric project but it has been abandoned  in 1914 because of the war.  If we have time left before the end of the visit, we can return passing through Galetas bridge which cross the Verdon. The bridge offers a postcard view.

« 1 of 2 »

loader image

CIRCUIT 1 – LE VERDON

Valensole et son plateau

Le village de Valensole ( la vallée du soleil) est situé sur un plateau superbe (800 km2, 12700 hectares et 500 m d’altitude) , Plus grande zone en France dédiée à la culture de la lavande ( floraison de mi-juin à mi-juillet/fin juillet).

On y cultive aussi les amandiers (floraison en mars) et les céréales (blé).

A proximité du village de Valensole vous visiterez des champs de lavande (en période de floraison) et un magasin de produits du terroir chez un producteur/distilleur.

Les produits du terroir nombreux et variés sont essentiellement, le miel à la lavande, les fromages de chèvre et brebis, l’ huile d’olive, la truffe, les huiles essentielles, les savons et pâtés.

Puis nous traverserons le plateau de Valensole sur plusieurs kms et vous serez envahis par une sensation d’évasion et de liberté car quelle que soit la période de l’année les couleurs sont superbes.

Moustiers-Sainte-Marie

Niché au creux de la montagne, blotti contre un escarpement rocheux traversé par des cascades car une rivière coupe le village en deux, Moustiers est classé ‘’ l’un des plus beaux villages de France ’’. Il est souvent comparé à une crèche provençale. De nombreuses fontaines, des restaurants avec de magnifiques terrasses , des magasins de souvenirs, de produits locaux et de faïence  parsèment le village. Très réputé pour sa faïence,  Moustiers s’articule autour du tourisme

Au Vème siècle des moines y fondèrent un monastère d’où le nom du village : Moustiers (monastérium en latin).

Entre 2 escarpements rocheux une étoile dorée de 1,25 m de diamètre surplombe le village suspendue à une chaîne de 135 m de long et pesant 150 kgs. L’étoile date de 1957 et c’est la onzième que l’on peut contempler actuellement car l’étoile est tombée onze fois durant son histoire.

Une des légendes dit qu’un chevalier prisonnier des Sarazins en 1210 pendant les croisades avait promis s’il revenait dans son village de suspendre une étoile et sa chaîne en hommage à la vierge Marie. Mais on recense quand même 17 autres légendes sur cette étoile…

Après la visite du village nous nous dirigerons vers la Palud-Sur-Verdon  pour contempler les gorges. Sur la route vous pourrez voir le lac artificiel de st-croix créé en 1973 et 3ème plus grand lac de France (10 km de long sur 2 km de large), il alimente en électricité les villes à proximité et offre un espace privilégié pour la baignade et le nautisme.

Les gorges du Verdon

C’est un des plus profonds  canyons d’Europe. Il résulte de l’érosion du calcaire des plateaux par le Verdon. Les gorges sont longues de 50 km et atteignent par endroit 700 m de profondeur. Ce joyau bénéficie du label ‘’ grand site de France ‘’. La route offre plusieurs belvédères permettant d’admirer les gorges, dont un ‘’point sublime ‘’, puis nous descendrons sur les berges du Verdon où vous pourrez visiter une partie du tunnel du Baou (long de 670 m, le chantier qui débuta en 1890 pour un projet hydroélectrique sera abandonné en 1914 à cause de la guerre). Puis si le timing le permet retour en passant par le pont du Galetas qui enjambe le Verdon à la sortie des gorges offrant un décor de carte postale.

« 1 de 2 »