loader image

CIRCUIT 10 – AIX-EN-PROVENCE I

Aix-en-Provence (144000 inhabitants)

City of water, city of art, this is where the painter Paul Cézanne was born, to whom the Aix countryside inspired some of his greatest masterpieces, and where he died and was buried. Founded in 122 BC under the name “Aquae Sextiae”, Aix has been a spa town since antiquity. The beauty of the city can be discovered by strolling through its historic centre to discover its mansions, monuments,  the Cours Mirabeau, its many  squares decorated with fountains, its brasseries and restaurants with their shady terraces and its superb colourful and varied market on TUESDAYS, THURSDAYS and SATURDAYS mornings until 1pm. Below we offer you a short description of 3 cultural places to visit among many others 

The Granet Museum has been open to the public since 1838, it has a permanent collection of 600 paintings and sculptures from antiquity to the 21st century and offers temporary exhibitions of renowned artists. In 2010 the museum receives the priceless collection (300 masterpieces) from the Jean and Suzanne Planque Foundation. A former 17th century chapel (Chapel of the White Penitents) has been renovated to house masterpieces by prestigious painters such as Cézanne, Van Gogh, Picasso, Braque, Gauguin, Dubuffet, de Staël, Renoir and many others (admission charge). 

The Hôtel de Caumont is without context one of the most beautiful mansions in the city. It was built in the 18th century between 1715 and 1742. Purchased by the city in 1964, which transformed it into a music conservatory, the hotel was sold in 2010 to a private company which, at great expense and under the direction of the Centre of National Monuments, turned it into a sumptuous cultural site while restoring its former glory. The rooms, carefully furnished with exceptional taste, reveal the daily life of the former time. The garden, redesigned in the original spirit, is also magnificent. High-quality temporary exhibitions are on offer all year round (admission charge). 

A short break between two, at lunchtime, in the Aix countryside for a Provencal picnic. Then return to the centre of Aix-en-Provence to continue the visit.

« 1 of 2 »

loader image

CIRCUIT 10 – AIX-EN-PROVENCE I

Aix-en-Provence (144000 habitants)

Ville d’eau, ville d’art, c’est là qu’est né le peintre Paul Cézanne à qui la campagne aixoise a inspiré quelques uns de ses plus grands chefs d’œuvre et c’est là aussi qu’il y est mort et enterré. Fondée en 122 av. J-C sous le nom « d’Aquae Sextiae », Aix est une ville thermale depuis l’antiquité. La beauté de la ville se découvre en flânant dans son centre historique à la découverte de ses hôtels particuliers, ses monuments, son cours Mirabeau, ses multiples places et placettes ornées de fontaines, ses brasseries et restaurants avec leurs terrasses ombragées et son superbe marché coloré et varié les MARDIS, JEUDIS et SAMEDIS matin jusqu’à 13h00. Ci-dessous nous vous proposons un petit descriptif de 3 lieux culturels à visiter parmi tant d’autres…

Le musée Granet est ouvert au public depuis 1838, il possède une collection permanente de 600 peintures et sculptures de l’antiquité au 21ème siècle et propose des expositions temporaires d’artistes de renom. En 2010 le musée reçoit en dépôt l’inestimable collection (300 chefs-d’œuvre) de la fondation Jean et Suzanne Planque. Une ancienne chapelle du 17ème ( chapelle des pénitents blancs) a donc été réhabilitée pour accueillir dès 2013 les chefs-d’œuvre de peintres prestigieux tel que Cézanne, Van Gogh, Picasso, Braque, Gauguin, Dubuffet, de Staël, Renoir et bien d’autres (entrée payante).

L’hôtel de Caumont est sans contexte un des plus beaux hôtels particuliers de la ville. Il a été construit au 18ème siècle entre 1715 et 1742. Il fut classé au titre de monument historique en 1990.Acheté par la ville en 1964 qui le transforma en conservatoire de musique, l’hôtel fut revendu en 2010 à une société privée qui à grand frais et sous l’égide du Centre des Monuments nationaux, en a fait un somptueux site culturel tout en restituant son éclat de jadis. Les pièces soigneusement meublées avec un goût exceptionnel dévoilent la vie quotidienne de l’époque. Le jardin redessiné dans l’esprit d’origine est lui aussi magnifique. Des expositions temporaires de grande qualité y sont proposées toute l’année (entrée payante).
Petite escapade entre deux, à l’heure du déjeuner, dans la campagne aixoise le temps d’un pique-nique provençal. Puis retour dans le centre d’Aix-en-Provence pour continuer la visite.

« 1 de 2 »