loader image

CIRCUIT 2 – LE LUBERON

The Luberon is a mountainous landscape with lush vegetation and exceptional wildlife, what earned it the call of Natural Regional Park. This area kept its authenticity. There are several wonderful villages with scenic little streets, castles and vineyards. The mountainous landscape extends over 60km from east to west with a peak at 1125m. This tour will explore the south of the Luberon.

Cucuron

After the visit of Ansouis village, let’s go for a ride in the South Luberon countryside with its scenic views, to go in the charming typical village of Cucuron. We will discover this old village with its little streets, laundries, churches, beautiful houses, oil mills and many more wonders including the basin of the pond. At the beginning, it was a simple pond fed by springs, it allowed the operation of a flour mill. Structured as a basin in the 19th century, it’s today a place of gathering and celebration : market on Tuesday mornings, several bars, restaurants, shaded terraces and majestic bicentenary plane trees. Classified site since 1954.

The current village dates back to 1004, in the 13th century, it expanded to reach 3000 inhabitants in 1719. Unfortunately, the plague of 1720 decimated a third of the population, the rural exodus and the war of 1914 depopulated the village. It was only in the 1960’s that the village attracted new inhabitants for its quality of life.

On the road to Lourmarin, we will stop to taste « La Cavale » wine, in an exceptional area of 500m2. You will also find many local products of Provence.

Lourmarin

The village is famous for its castle classified as historical monument in 1973, but also for some celebrities who lived there such as Albert Camus (writer). It will be partially burned and destroyed in 1545, but gradually rebuilt to have its current profile.

Classified as « One of the most beautiful villages in France », it is very attractive for tourists. You will walk through the many narrow streets that lead you from small squares to fountains, dotted with art galleries, bars, restaurants and beautiful shops that highlight the beautiful typical houses. In addition to its beauty, the village is animated all year round with festivals, concerts and large and wonderful market on Friday mornings.

The castle was the first Renaissance style castle built in Provence, its construction began in 1480, in a medieval style and then in 1526, the superb Renaissance facade was added to the castle. From the 17th century it was abandoned, to be saved from ruins in 1920 by a wealthy industrialist (subject to a fee).

Ansouis

A small provencal village on a hill, classified as « One of the most beautiful villages in France ».Its small streets and charming squares will not leave you insensitive.  There is a small market on Sunday mornings.

An imposing building dominates the village : a 10th century fortress transformed into a castle in the 17th century, and then transformed again in the mid-18th century. It is classified as a historical monument since 1948 for its architectural quality.

The new owners who have been living in the castle since 2008, have restored it to its former glory with quality restoration and 18th century furniture. (Submitted to a fee, guided by the owner only on reservation

« 1 of 4 »

loader image

CIRCUIT 2 – LE LUBERON

Le Lubéron est un massif à la végétation luxuriante et à la faune exceptionnelle qui lui valent d’être “Parc Régional Naturel”. C’est une région qui a su garder son authenticité. Des villages superbes avec leurs rues et ruelles pittoresques, des châteaux, de nombreux vignobles, des paysages vallonnés superbes. Le massif du Lubéron s’étale sur 60kms d’ouest en est avec un point culminant à 1125m. Ce circuit ne concerne qu’une partie du Lubéron, le sud Lubéron.

Cucuron

Après la visite d’Ansouis, petite balade en voiture dans la campagne du sud Lubéron au décor de carte postale pour se rendre dans le charmant petit village typiquement provençal de Cucuron. Nous partirons à la découverte de ce vieux village avec ses ruelles, ses lavoirs, ses églises, ses superbes bâtisses, son moulin à l’huile et bien d’autres choses, sans oublier Le magnifique bassin de l’étang. A l’origine, au XVIème siècle, ce n’était qu’une simple mare alimentée par des sources, il permettait le fonctionnement d’un moulin à farine. Structuré en bassin au XIXème siècle, c’est aujourd’hui un lieu de rassemblement et de festivité : marché le mardi matin, plusieurs bars et restaurants avec des terrasses ombragées exceptionnelles et des platanes bicentenaires majestueux. Site classé depuis 1954.
Le village actuel date de 1004, au XIIIème siècle il s’agrandit pour atteindre 3000 habitants en 1719. Mais la peste de 1720 décime le tiers de la population, l’exode rural et la guerre de 1914 dépeupleront le village. Ce n’est qu’à partir des années 60 que le village attirera de nouveaux habitants pour sa qualité de vie.
Sur la route de Lourmarin, arrêt dégustation des vins ‘’LA CAVALE’’, dans un espace d’exception et raffiné de 500m2. Vous trouverez aussi dans cet espace de nombreux produits locaux de Provence.

Lourmarin

Réputé pour son château classé monument historique en 1973, mais aussi pour certaines célébrités qui y ont vécu tel que Albert Camus. Le village sera partiellement incendié et détruit en 1545 mais sera peu à peu reconstruit pour avoir son profil actuel.
Lourmarin classé ‘’plus beaux villages de France’’ est un village touristique très attractif. Vous déambulerez parmi les multitudes de ruelles étroites qui vous mènent de placettes en fontaines, jalonnées de galeries d’art, de bars, de restaurants et de beaux magasins qui mettent en valeur les belles maisons de caractère. Outre sa beauté, Lourmarin est animé toute l’année par des festivals, des concerts, un grand et superbe marché le vendredi matin.

Le Château fut le premier de style renaissance bâti en Provence, sa construction commença en 1480, dans un style médiéval puis en 1526 on rajouta au Château sa superbe façade renaissance. A partir du XVIIème il fut délaissé pour être sauvé de la ruine en 1920 par un richissime industriel. (Visite payante)

Ansouis

Petit village provençal perché, classé ‘’plus beaux villages de France’’. Ses petites ruelles et ses placettes de charme ne vous laisseront pas insensible. Petit marché le dimanche matin.
Une imposante bâtisse domine le village, forteresse du Xème siècle transformée en château au XVIIème siècle puis de nouveau transformé au milieu du XVIIIème siècle, classé monument historique depuis 1948 pour sa qualité architecturale. Les nouveaux propriétaires qui habitent le château depuis 2008 lui ont redonné ses lettres de noblesse par des restaurations de qualité et un ameublement du XVIIIème. (Visite payante guidée par la propriétaire uniquement sur réservation)

« 1 de 4 »