loader image

CIRCUIT 4 – LES ALPILLES

Les Baux-de-Provence

Located in the Alpilles mountains, the village of Les Baux-de-Provence, perched on a rocky plateau like an eagle’s nest, is classified as “one of the most beautiful villages in France”. It dominates exceptional landscapes. No less than 22 buildings in the village are classified as”Historical Monument”.  The squares, fountains, art galleries, shops of all kinds, museums and restaurants with superb panoramic terraces make Les Baux-de-Provence a very touristic place all year round. Château des Baux is located at the end of the village (entrance fee). The first texts on the castle appeared in the 10th century. According to legend, the house of Les Baux is descended from King Balthazar and that is why the arms of the Lords of Les Baux include a comet with 16 silver points in reference to the star that the wise men followed. In 2007, reproductions were installed, reconstructed from medieval drawings. It is now known that the castle site was inhabited almost continuously from prehistoric times to the present day.

Images Cathedral

A few hundred metres from the village are old limestone quarries that were first exploited in the 19th century and were abandoned in 1935 in favour of steel and concrete (more economical). In 1959 the quarry found a new function thanks to the visionary genius of Jean Cocteau who, amazed by the beauty of the place, decided to make a movie”The Testament of Orpheus”. The audiovisual shows began in 1977 because the huge rock walls (7000m2) form as many supports for sounds and lights. In 2012 the place was named”Quarry of Light”. Since then, there have been immersive digital and sound exhibitions by the greatest painters in history (Chagall, Picasso, Van Gogh, Klimt, Monet, Renoir, Michelangelo etc.).

A great show, a must see! (paying entrance)

Saint-Rémy-de-Provence

A few kilometers from Les Baux-de-Provence, the small town of Saint Rémy de Provence where Nostradamus was born and where Van Gogh stayed, will reveal all its charms with its architecture, its numerous art galleries, its beautiful shops, its local products, luxury hotels, gastronomic and traditional restaurants and small squares decorated with fountains. Many celebrities have a pied-à-terre in this region which concentrates all the charm of living in Provence. Large market on Wednesday mornings.

Near the city, you’ll see the great archaeological site of Glanum, whose excavations began in 1921. The site was already inhabited by indigenous populations from the 6th century BC, then colonized by Rome from the 1st century BC to the 3rd century AD. In the 260s the barbaric invasions destroyed the city, the survivors founded 1 km away, another city which will take the name of St Rémy de Provence (paying entrance).

« 1 of 3 »

loader image

CIRCUIT 4 – LES ALPILLES

Les Baux-de-Provence

Situé dans le massif des Alpilles, le village des Baux-de-Provence, perché sur un plateau rocheux comme un nid d’aigle, est classé ‘’un des plus beaux villages de France’’. Il domine des paysages exceptionnels. Pas moins de 22 bâtisses dans le village sont classées ‘’Monument Historique’’. Les Placettes, les fontaines, les galeries d’art, les magasins de toutes sortes, les musées et les restaurants avec de superbes terrasses panoramiques font des Baux-de-Provence un lieu très touristique toute l’année. Le château des Baux se situe au bout du village (entrée payante). C’est au Xème siècle qu’apparaissent les premiers textes sur le château. D’après la légende la maison des Baux descend du roi Balthazar et ce serait pour cela que les armes des seigneurs des Baux comprennent une comète avec 16 rais d’argent en référence à l’étoile que suivirent les rois mages. En 2007, sont mises en place des machines de sièges reconstituées d’après des dessins médiévaux. On sait aujourd’hui que le site du château a été habité presque en continu de la préhistoire à nos jours.

Cathédrale d’Images

A quelques centaines de mètres du village se trouvent d’anciennes carrières de calcaire dont l’exploitation a débuté au XIXème siècle et qui sera abandonnée en 1935 au profit de l’acier et du béton (plus économiques). En 1959 la carrière trouve une nouvelle fonction grâce au génie visionnaire de Jean Cocteau qui émerveillé par la beauté des lieux, décide d’y tourner un film ‘‘le testament d’Orphée’’. C’est en 1977 que débutent les spectacles audiovisuels car les immenses murailles rocheuses (7000m2) forment autant de supports pour des sons et lumières. En 2012 le lieu est baptisé ‘’carrière de lumière’’. Depuis se succèdent des expositions numériques immersives et sonores des plus grands artistes peintres de l’histoire (Chagall, Picasso, Van Gogh, Klimt, Monet, Renoir, Michel-Ange etc..).
Du grand spectacle, à voir absolument ! (entrée payante)

Saint-Rémy-de-Provence

A quelques kms des Baux-de-Provence, la petite ville de Saint Rémy de Provence où est né Nostradamus et ou a séjourné Van Gogh, vous dévoilera tous ses charmes avec son architecture, ses nombreuses galeries d’art, ses belles boutiques, ses produits du terroir, ses hôtels de luxes, ses restaurants gastronomiques et traditionnels, ses petites places ornées de fontaines. De nombreuses célébrités ont un pied à terre dans cette région qui concentre tout le charme de vivre provençal. Grand marché le mercredi matin.
A proximité de la ville se trouve le grand site archéologique de Glanum dont les fouilles ont commencé en 1921. Le site était déjà habité par les populations autochtones depuis le 6ème siècle avant JC, puis colonisé par Rome du 1er siècle avant JC jusqu’au 3ème siècle après JC. Vers les années 260 les invasions barbares détruisirent la ville, les survivants fondèrent alors à 1 km une autre ville qui prendra le nom de St Rémy de Provence (entrée payante).

« 1 de 3 »