loader image

CIRCUIT 8 – MARSEILLE I

The complex (the Old Port, the MuCEM and the Panier), is today an emblematic place of Marseille, it is the meeting place of the inhabitants  and visitors from all horizons. Once there, the whole circuit will be done on foot.

The Old-Port

Today it is a marina with 3200 berths for boats, and until the middle of the 19th century it was the economic centre of the city. The port has existed since the 6th century BC. A ferry boat allows to cross the port in its width, this line exists since 1880. It is a place of celebration and one of the symbols of Marseille.

Around the Old Port there is a multitude of brasseries and restaurants which take part in the animation of the place.

Le Panier

The oldest and most typical district of the city, almost entirely pedestrian. Strolling through its narrow streets with a Mediterranean atmosphere is an enchantment, we have the impression of being in a small village with its small squares where the terraces of cafés and restaurants are spread out when fine weather. Street art colours the facades and potted plants line some of the alleys. A large number of creators, craftsmen, art galleries and original shops are scattered throughout the district.

For several years, the Panier has renewed its image because for a long time the people of Marseille avoided the district because of its reputation of ”cut throat”. To see, the Vieille-Charité built in the 17th century to lock up the poor of the city, it then became a hospice during the French Revolution, then was occupied by the army from 1905. Almost abandoned at the beginning of the 20th century, the place was used as social housing from 1922. In 1951 the Vieille-Charité was classified as a historical monument, but it was only in 1961 that the restoration work began and lasted 25 years.

Today it is a superb cultural place, Museum of African, Amerindian and Oceanian Arts and temporary quality exhibitions (entrance fee). To see also in the district, the hotel of Cabre. The oldest existing house in Marseille built around 1535, it was moved in 1954 by 15 m and turned by 90 degrees to fit in with the alignment of the street during the post-war reconstruction.

Mucem

Opened in 2013, the MuCEM (Museum of Civilization, of Europe and the Mediterranean) is located on a breathtaking site at the junction between the mythical Old Port and the harbour of Marseille.

The J4, an astonishing building clad in concrete mesh, is linked by its flat roof to Fort St Jean by an impressive 115m long concrete footbridge, without vaults or stays thanks to the use of a new type of concrete as solid as steel. The building created by the architect Rudy Ricciotti is a sum of technical prowess. The J4 can be climbed up and down via gently sloping outdoor walkways behind the concrete mesh to admire the beautiful surrounding landscape.

Inside there are exhibition and other areas (bookshop, auditorium, restaurant, etc.). Right next door, the old Saint-Jean fort built in 1660 (classified as a historical monument in 1964) was never open to the public before the MuCEM was created.

Walking through the maze of the fort is very pleasant, with its gardens, exhibitions and squares. The panorama: a superb view of the Old Port from the King René tower and many other things.

The cathedral of the Major

Built in neo-Byzantine style between 1852 and 1893 on the oldest church in Marseille (4th century) “the Major” is one of the most emblematic monuments of Marseille. An opulent interior with murals, mosaics and marble. The cathedral stands on an esplanade overlooking the sea. It was classified as a historical monument in 1906. Its dimensions are comparable to those of Saint Peter’s Basilica in Rome, it can accommodate up to 3000 people!

« 1 of 3 »

loader image

CIRCUIT 8 – MARSEILLE I

 Le complexe (le Vieux Port, le MuCEM et le Panier), est aujourd’hui un endroit emblématique de Marseille, c’est le lieu de rendez-vous des marseillais et des visiteurs de tout horizon. Une fois sur place tout le circuit se fera à pied.

Le Vieux-Port

Aujourd’hui c’est un port de plaisance aux 3200 places de bateaux, il fut jusqu’au milieu du 19ème siècle, le centre économique de la ville. Le port existe depuis le 6ème siècle avant J-C. Un ferry boat permet de traverser le port dans sa largeur, cette ligne existe depuis 1880. C’est un lieu de célébration et un des symboles de Marseille.
Autour du Vieux Port se trouve une multitude de brasseries et de restaurants qui participent à l’animation du lieu.

Le Panier

Le plus ancien et le plus typique quartier de la ville, presque totalement piéton. Flâner dans ses ruelles étroites à l’ambiance méditerranéenne est un enchantement, on a l’impression d’être dans un petit village avec ses placettes où les terrasses de cafés et de restaurants s’étalent dès les beaux jours. Le street art colore les façades et des plantes en pots jalonnent certaines ruelles. Un grand nombre de créateurs, d’artisans, de galeries d’art et de boutiques originales sont éparpillés dans le quartier.

Depuis plusieurs années, le Panier a renouvelé son image car pendant longtemps les marseillais ont évité le quartier à cause de sa réputation de ’’coupe gorge’’. A voir, la Vieille-Charité construite au 17ème siècle pour enfermer les pauvres de la ville, elle devint ensuite un hospice à la révolution Française, puis fut occupée par l’armée à partir de 1905. Quasiment à l’abandon au début du 20ème siècle le lieu sert de logement social à partir de 1922. En 1951 la Vieille- Charité est classée monument historique mais ce n’est qu’en 1961 que les travaux de restauration débutent et dureront 25 ans.

C’est aujourd’hui un superbe lieu culturel, Musée des Arts Africains, Amérindiens, d’Océanie et des expositions temporaires de qualité (entrée payante). A voir aussi, dans le quartier, l’hôtel de Cabre. La plus vieille maison existante à Marseille construite vers 1535, elle fut déplacée en 1954 de 15 m et tournée de 90 degrés pour rentrer dans l’alignement de la rue lors de la reconstruction d’après-guerre.

Le Mucem

Ouvert en 2013 le MuCEM (musée des civilisations, de l’Europe et de la Méditerranée) se situe sur un site époustouflant à la jointure entre le mythique Vieux Port et la rade de Marseille.

Le J4, étonnant édifice habillé d’une résille de béton est relié par son toit terrasse au Fort st Jean par une impressionnante passerelle de béton de 115m de long, sans voûte ni hauban grâce à l’utilisation d’un nouveau type de béton solide comme de l’acier. L’édifice créé par l’architecte Rudy Ricciotti est une somme de prouesses techniques. On peut monter et descendre du J4 par des coursives en pente douce en extérieur, situées derrière les résilles en béton permettant d’admirer le superbe paysage environnant.

A l’intérieur se trouvent des espaces d’exposition et autre (librairie, auditorium, restaurant, etc.). Tout à côté, le vieux fort Saint- Jean construit en 1660 (classé monument historique en 1964) n’a jamais été ouvert au public avant la création du MuCEM.

Se balader dans le dédale du fort est très agréable, des jardins, des expositions, des placettes. Le panorama : une superbe vue sur le Vieux Port de la tour du Roi René et bien d’autres choses.

La cathédrale de la Major

 Construite en style néo-byzantin entre 1852 et 1893 sur la plus vieille église de Marseille (4ème siècle) la Major est un des monuments les plus emblématiques de Marseille. Un intérieur opulent avec peintures murales, mosaïques et marbre. La cathédrale se dresse sur une esplanade dominant la mer. Elle est classée monument historique en 1906. Ses dimensions sont comparables à celles de la basilique Saint-Pierre de Rome, elle peut accueillir jusqu’à 3000 personnes !

« 1 de 3 »