loader image

CIRCUIT 9 – MARSEILLE II

Notre-Dame de la Garde

This emblematic basilica of Marseille was built between 1853 and 1864 in the Romano-Byzantine style. Built on a 157m high hill, it offers an unobstructed view of the city over 380 degrees. The virgin, made of copper and restored with a ½ kilo of gold every 25 years, is 11m high and 24 m with its pedestal. The inhabitants nicknamed her ”the Good Mother”, she is considered as the guardian of sailors and fishermen. A popular devotion will develop over the centuries, hundreds of ex-voto (offerings) decorate the basilica and the exterior, mainly marble slabs. Superb models of ships, saved from sinking or having escaped the fury of the pirates, float in the basilica, suspended from the ceiling.

Burning a candle to the “good mother”, when a wish is granted or to ask something of the Virgin Mary, is a tradition that has been deeply rooted in the hearts of the people of Marseille for centuries. Under the basilica is a crypt dug directly into the rock.

The breathtaking view alone is worth the trip.

Vallon des Auffes

It is a small fishing port, picturesque, with an authentic charm, nestled under the cornice in the heart of the city which symbolizes the “Dolce Vita” in Marseille style. It is home to about fifty small, colourful fishermen’s houses, a few restaurants and about 80 places for small fishing boats, including Marseille boats which are to Marseille what gondolas are to Venice. The entrance to the port is spanned over 60m by a viaduct from which one can admire the Vallon des Auffes with its postcard decor, a must!

Malmousque

Just a stone’s throw from the Vallon des Auffes, the hidden district of Malmousque, classified as a protected site, look like a seaside village, with its tiny port, its creeks, its small pebble beach, its maze of winding streets and its special atmosphere. Walking in Malmousque is like diving into the picturesque former Marseille with its beautiful bastides. In this very quiet area you will find a rest centre of the Foreign Legion. There is also the most starred restaurant of the city (3 stars in the Michelin Guide since 2008). Mostly regulars come to take a bath in the clear water and sunbathe on the rocks, while enjoying an exceptional panorama.

Les Goudes

It’s a real little fishing village located at the south gate of Marseille with a breathtaking view of the city’s harbour. Nicknamed “the end of the world of Marseille” because the road ends a little further on at the beginning of the national park of the calanques. It is reached by a pretty winding road that runs along the sea. Les Goudes is a shoreline of small creeks and rugged hills and a superb contrast of colours between the blue of the sky, the white of the rock and the turquoise of the sea. Formerly exclusively reserved for fishermen, the port now welcomes a majority of pleasure boats. It is surrounded by numerous cabins, bars and authentic restaurants (especially fish restaurants).  In fine weather, this place gives a feeling of holiday and escape, (whether for a meal in a restaurant, a walk or a picnic by the sea).

Callelongue

It is a small, typically Marseille fishermen’s cove, full of charm with its cabins, its restaurant, its diving club and its small boats on the rock. It is the starting point for many hikes. The sublime view on small islands will not leave you indifferent. Access by car is regulated.

« 1 of 2 »

loader image

CIRCUIT 9 – MARSEILLE II

Notre-Dame de la Garde

Cette basilique emblématique de Marseille a été construite entre 1853 et 1864 dans le style Romano-Byzantin. Bâtie sur une bute de 157m de haut, elle offre une vue imprenable de la ville sur 380 degrés. La vierge en cuivre et redorée avec un ½ kilo d’or tous les 25 ans, mesure 11 m de haut et 24 m avec son piédestal. Les Marseillais la surnomme ‘’la Bonne Mère’’, elle est considérée comme la gardienne des marins et des pêcheurs. Une dévotion populaire va se développer au cours des siècles, des centaines d’ex-voto (offrandes) ornent la basilique et l’extérieur, essentiellement des plaques de marbre. De superbes maquettes de vaisseaux, sauvés du naufrage ou ayant échappé à la fureur des pirates, flottent dans la basilique, suspendues au plafond.

Brûler un cierge à la « bonne mère », quand un vœu est réalisé ou pour demander quelque chose à la vierge Marie, est une tradition profondément enracinée dans le cœur des marseillais depuis des siècles. Sous la basilique se trouve une crypte creusée directement dans la roche.

La vue à couper le souffle mérite à elle seule le déplacement.

Vallon des Auffes

C’est un petit port de pêche, pittoresque, au charme authentique, niché sous la corniche au cœur de la ville qui symbolise la « Dolce Vita » à la marseillaise. Il abrite une cinquantaine de petites maisons de pêcheurs colorées, quelques restaurants et environ 80 places de petits bateaux de pêche, dont des barques marseillaises qui sont à Marseille ce que les “gondoles” sont à Venise. L’entrée du port est enjambée sur 60m par un viaduc duquel on peut admirer le Vallon des Auffes avec son décor de carte postale, incontournable !

Malmousque

A deux pas du Vallon des Auffes, le quartier caché de Malmousque, classé site protégé, ressemble à un village en bord de mer, avec son tout petit port, ses criques, sa petite plage de galets, ses dédales de ruelles tortueuses et son atmosphère particulière. Se balader dans Malmousque c’est faire une plongée dans le Marseille pittoresque d’autrefois avec ses belles bastides. On trouve dans ce quartier très calme un centre de repos de la Légion Etrangère. On y trouve aussi le restaurant le plus étoilé de la ville (3 étoiles au Guide Michelin depuis 2008). Ce sont essentiellement des habitués qui viennent prendre le bain dans une eau claire et se faire bronzer sur les rochers, tout en profitant d’un panorama exceptionnel.

Les Goudes

C’est un vrai petit village de pêcheurs situé à la porte sud de Marseille avec une vue imprenable sur la rade de la ville. Surnommé « le bout du monde marseillais » car la route prend fin un peu plus loin au début du parc national des calanques. On y accède par une jolie route sinueuse qui longe la mer. Les Goudes, c’est un rivage de petites criques et de collines écorchées et un superbe contraste de couleurs entre le bleu du ciel, le blanc de la roche et le turquoise de la mer. Autrefois exclusivement réservé aux pêcheurs, le port accueille désormais une majorité de bateaux de plaisance. Il est entouré de nombreux cabanons, de bars et de restaurants authentiques (surtout de poissons). Aux beaux jours, ce lieu donne une sensation de vacances et d’évasion, que ce soit pour un repas au restaurant, une balade ou un pique-nique en bord de mer.

Callelongue

C’est une petite calanque de pêcheurs typiquement marseillaise, pleine de charme avec ses cabanons, son restaurant, son club de plongée et ses petits bateaux posés sur la roche. C’est le point de départ de nombreuses randonnées. La vue sublime sur des petites îles ne vous laissera pas indifférent. L’accès en voiture y est réglementé.

« 1 de 2 »